Heldt Prize 2017 Nominations

The Association for Women in Slavic Studies invites nominations for the 2017 Competition for the Heldt Prizes, awarded for works of scholarship. To be eligible for nomination, all books and articles for the first three prize categories must be published between 15 April 2016 and 15 April 2017. The publication dates for the translation prize, which is offered every other year, are 15 April 2015 to 15 April 2017. Nominations for the 2017 prizes will be accepted for the following categories:

  1. Best book in Slavic/Eastern European/Eurasian women's and gender studies;
  2. Best article in Slavic/Eastern European/Eurasian women's and gender studies;
  3. Best book by a woman in any area of Slavic/East European/Eurasian studies.
  4. Best translation in Slavic/Eastern European/Eurasian women’s and gender studies.

One may nominate individual books for more than one category, and more than one item for each category. Articles included in collections as well as journals are eligible for the "best article" prize, but they must be nominated individually. Hard copy submissions are preferred over e-versions. The prizes will be awarded at the AWSS meeting at the ASEEES National Convention in Chicago, IL, in November 2017.

To nominate any work, please send or request that the publisher send one copy to each of the five members of the Prize committee by 1 May 2017:

Paula Michaels, Chair, Heldt Prize Committee
Philosophical, Historical and International Studies
Menzies Building, 20 Chancellors Walk
Monash University
Clayton, VIC 3800

Melissa Bokovoy
Department of History
MSC06 3760
Mesa Vista Hall, rm 1104
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Jenny Kaminer
Dept. of German/Russian
1 Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616

Eileen Kane
Department of History
Connecticut College
270 Mohegan Avenue
New London, CT 06320

Jennifer Suchland
400 Hagerty Hall
1775 College Rd
Ohio State University
Columbus Ohio, 43210